## I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2005 (FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution No. 5 (EC)

As amended on the Floor.

Introduced by:

Mike Cruz Mark Forbes

A. R. Unpingco

J. A. Lujan

F. B. Aguon Jr.

J. M.S. Brown

E. B. Calvo

B. J. F. Cruz

L. F. Kasperbauer

R. Klitzkie

L. A. Leon Guerrero

A. Palacios

R. J. Respicio

Ray Tenorio

J. B. Won Pat

Relative to requesting the United States Congress to amend Section 1421g. of the Organic Act of Guam, to improve health care in Guam.

## 1 BE IT RESOLVED BY I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN

- 2 GUÅHAN:
- 3 WHEREAS, healthcare in Guam requires vast systemic, as well as
- 4 material improvements; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Guam Memorial Hospital, in particular, needs
- 6 improvement in a large number of areas, including issues of governance; and

WHEREAS, Section 1421g. of the Organic Act of Guam limits I 1 (the Legislature's) ability to make significant 2 Liheslaturan Guåhan's improvements in the area of Guam's Public Health system; now, therefore, be 3 4 it 5 **RESOLVED**, that I Mina' Bente Ocho Na Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of the people of Guam, request that our Washington Delegate, the 6 7 Honorable Madeleine Z. Bordallo, introduce legislation into the U.S. Congress amending Section 1421g. of the Organic Act of Guam, so that the word 8 9 "governor" in that Section shall be replaced by the word "government", giving the people of Guam greater latitude and flexibility to make 10 improvements in our Public Health system, including our hospital; and be it 11 12 further RESOLVED, that the Speaker certify, and the Secretary of the 13 Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof and that copies of the same be 14 15 thereafter transmitted to the Honorable Madeleine Z. Bordallo, Member of Congress, U. S. House of Representatives; and to the Honorable Felix P. 16 Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan. 17

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE  $4^{TH}$  DAY OF JANUARY 2005.

MARK FORBES

Speaker

EDWARD J. B. CALVO

Senator and Secretary of the Legislature